Recently, I just posted about a website called Shooter Jobs, which I will not provide a link for. (use google search if you want). They were heavily advertising in Soldier of Fortune and have a Facebook page. But after an email from a trusted reader, I decided to pull my post about them just to be safe. So with that said, if anyone here has information about the website mentioned that might help to verify if these guys are legitimate or not, that would be great.
The problem here is that they are heavily advertising in all the right places, but I have no way to confirm if they are legitimate or not. They are asking for personal information for payment, which is not odd, but for them to promote themselves as security contractors with no one in the community backing that statement up, then that is when the warning flags come up. If guys know who they are and can verify that they are legitimate then that would be great.
I also thought they would have contacted me by now to talk about their service or to verify that in fact they are security contractors trying to provide a service to the industry. I would hate to direct people towards this website and find out that these guys were not who they say they are. If any readers have something to add, feel free to contribute. Thanks to my readership out there for giving me the heads up.-Matt
Edit: 04/09/2011 – I have received an email from the website owner, and verified that he is a security contractor or has worked in the industry at some point. I know of the companies he worked for, and we even know some of the same folks. If anyone has anything to add, feel free to send me an email.













#1 by Frank on Monday, February 7, 2011 - 5:54 am
Quote
Hi Matt, what is the url for the site?
#2 by Frank on Monday, February 7, 2011 - 5:57 am
Quote
I do know they are registered in Sunnyvale California not sure if thats just the service they are using. Sunnyvale is in silicon valley home of computers as we know them so I don't know seems fishy to me.
#3 by headjundi on Monday, February 7, 2011 - 6:25 am
Quote
Frank,
It would be http: // shooterjobs.com / . All I know is that they have been very quiet and no one seems to know who they are. I do know they spent some coin to put an ad up on Soldier of Fortune, which has been running for a couple months at least. Who knows what other magazines they are in.
#4 by Eeben on Monday, February 7, 2011 - 2:20 pm
Quote
Hi Matt,
People who make false claims or are out to rip off the unsuspecting – usually at a cost, must be exposed.
Thanks for this one.
Rgds,
Eeben
#5 by headjundi on Tuesday, February 8, 2011 - 4:36 am
Quote
Hey Eeben,
I think I have given this crew plenty of opportunity to explain themselves, or for someone in the community to jump in their defense. But out of all of my readership, here or on Facebook, no one has come forward to vouch for them. Not even the magazine that has been running their ad. -matt
#6 by Shooter Jobs on Friday, April 8, 2011 - 6:31 pm
Quote
Just found this post when I did a Google search for our website.
We aren’t ripping anyone off. We created the website to help other contractors find work. If you read our privacy statement we don’t sell or distribute anyones personal information. We don’t request resumes or anything of the sort to get anyones information. The only information we collect is for billing purposes and it is stored on our secure server.
We already have 1000 members and have been operational for 5 months. If we were scamming anyone then word would have gotten out by now. The owners have decided to keep their personal information private because we work in the job field we are advertising for. A lot of people in Iraq and Afghanistan know who we are. We just don’t go around bragging about the website to open sources.
If you look at our facebook and our feedback, you will see we are legitimate and providing a real service. No one is claiming we have ripped them off.
ww.facebook.com/shooterjobs<
Hope this helps to clear up any confusion about Shooterjobs.com
#7 by Feral Jundi on Friday, April 8, 2011 - 9:09 pm
Quote
Boy, I am not buying it man. I have had this post up for a long time now, and I have yet to hear anyone step forward and vouch for Shooter Jobs. My fear here is that you are not who you proclaim to be, and you are collecting a ton of folk's money and personal information. My suggestion is to send me a personal email at headjundi@feraljundi.com or use the Contact Me page up in the top tabs, and hash this out. Because what you have said here is not verifiable, and your 1000 plus members could be new guys who don't know any better. Or maybe you are counting your Facebook fans as the 1000 plus members, which really doesn't mean much either. Like I said, send me an email and we can talk if you do not want to do so in the comments section here.
Also, this blog is on Facebook and I have a pretty big readership there who are mostly 'shooters' as you might say. Frank from Secure Aspects doesn't know you are (please see comment above), James from Death Valley Magazine has no clue who you are, and most importantly, I have asked several times on my page if anyone knows you folks? No one has vouched for you guys, and that concerns me. So send me an email and lets talk. You might be surprised, and if in fact you are a 'shooter' or security contractor, we might have crossed paths at one time or know the same people…..
#8 by Shooter Jobs on Saturday, April 9, 2011 - 1:22 am
Quote
You have mail waiting for you
#9 by Feral Jundi on Saturday, April 9, 2011 - 12:46 pm
Quote
Thanks for the email and clarification.